Psychology professor named McCoy Professor

Dr. Mary Barnas, an associate professor of psychology at Marietta College, was recently named a McCoy Professor — the most prestigious teaching award at the College.

The finalist is selected by an outside committee made up of faculty members from other small private colleges in Ohio who themselves have been recognized for their outstanding teaching.

“It’s nice to have people come from the outside and observe your teaching and evaluate what you do as a professor,” said Barnas, who helped develop and directs the Center for Families & Children on the MC campus. “There was a lot of work that went into the process and I really had a nice dialogue with the committee.”

Barnas was one of four finalists for the award. The other professors were Dr. Bev Hogue, Dr. Dan Huck and Dr. Ryan May. All four participated in an extensive review including the development of a teaching portfolio, repeated observations of their classroom teaching, and interviews with students in their classes. They will all be recognized at the Founders’ Day celebration on Feb. 10.

“At Marietta College, receiving the McCoy Professor Award is confirmation of an individual’s talent as a teacher,” said MC Provost Dr. Sue DeWine. “Mary Barnas is a well established faculty member who has constantly received outstanding evaluations from her students. They are impressed with her knowledge of psychology and her commitment to their education. An excellent example of that dedication was her tireless effort to establish the Center for Families and Children. The center provides an opportunity for psychology and education students to apply what they are learning in the classroom to their interactions with children at the center. Mary Barnas cares about the education of the total person.”

McCoy Professors are Marietta College faculty who have been recognized as outstanding teachers by a selection committee composed of nationally recognized teachers and scholars who are not members of the Marietta College community. The four-year designation, with possibility of renewal, also includes an annual salary supplement. Usually no more than 16 Marietta faculty will be McCoy Professors at any given time.

The program was established in 1993 as part of the McCoy Endowment for Teaching Excellence, which was donated to MC by John G. McCoy ’35, and his wife, Jeanne.

There are 15 McCoy Professors on the current faculty. The 14 previous honorees are: Dr. Jacqueline DeLaat, Dr. Gregory Delemeester, Dr. Carolyn Hares-Stryker, Dr. Peter Hogan, Grace Johnson, Dr. James O’Donnell, Dr. Mabry O’Donnell, Edward Osborne, Dr. Gamaliel Perruci, Dr. Mark Sibicky, Dr. Steven Spilatro, Dr. Michael Taylor, Dr. Ena Vulor and Dr. Matthew Young.