Variety, fun highlight CUB events for first half of fall semester

Most of Marietta College’s students are still off enjoying the final weeks of their summer break, but Joe Dillon ’12 (Valley View, Ohio) has been planning dozens of student activities for the first month of the 2011-12 school year.

Dillon, President of College Union Board (CUB), has been working with other members of the organization to have everything ready to go when the students return for classes on Monday, Aug. 29.

“CUB is all about giving students something to do aside from their academic duties, and we start right away at the beginning of the semester,” Dillon said. “It’s especially great to involve the freshmen who might be surprised that we have so much going on.”

CUB’s first big event is the “Welcome Back Bash” during the first weekend after classes begin (Sept. 1-3).

Dillon believes students will enjoy the large amount of activities available to them. It all begins with Club MC from 5-8 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 1, on the Christy Mall.

Club MC is a chance for any organization on campus to provide information to interested students. Each group gets a table where they are allowed to recruit and educate.

Later that night the students will congregate down to The Gathering Place from a BINGO tournament from 8-10 p.m.

The Charles Sumner Harrison Organization, along with CUB, sponsors a big Ice Breaker Dance from 10 p.m.-1 a.m., Friday, Sept. 2, at The Gathering Place.

The final day of the Bash includes two very popular annual activities.

First is the Athletics and Student Life departments team up with CUB to sponsor a Tailgate and Carnival from 4-6 p.m. at Don Drumm Stadium. This precedes the season opener for the Pioneers who take on Thiel (Pa.) at 7 p.m.

That is followed up with a Drive-In Movie viewing of The Hangover 2 at Parsons Field from 9-11 p.m.

Here are the other events CUB has scheduled leading up to the fall break:

 

Thursday, Sept. 8: Karaoke Night, 9 p.m., Izzy’s

Friday, Sept. 9: Snoozapalooza, 10 p.m., Gathering Place

Monday, Sept. 12: Monday Night Football, 7 p.m., Gathering Place

Friday, Sept. 16: Beta Fish Night, 10 p.m., Gathering Place

Saturday, Sept. 17: Cedar Point excursion, 7 a.m. (departure), tickets available starting Sept. 5

Mondays, Sept. 19-Dec. 12: Monday Night Football, 8:30 p.m., Gathering Place

Wednesday, Sept. 21: Spa Night, 6-10 p.m., Gathering Place

Thursday, Sept. 22: Comedy – Cristela Alonzo, 8 p.m., Gathering Place

Friday-Sunday, Sept. 23-25: Family Weekend

Tuesday, Sept. 27: Outdoor Tournament, 4 p.m., Kremer Amphitheatre

Friday, Sept. 30: BINGO Tournament, 10 p.m., Gathering Place