College hands out awards during annual Founders Day celebration

Marietta College president Jean A. Scott welcomed faculty, administration, trustees, emeriti faculty and honored guests who gathered to celebrate the College's 173rd birthday at the Founders Day Convocation on Feb. 14 in the Alma McDonough Auditorium.

Dr. Georgia E. Lesh-Laurie '60 delivered the convocation address, "Go Global." Lesh-Laurie, who was honored by the Office of Alumni Relations as the Distinguished Alumna in 2005, is the Chancellor Emerita of the University of Colorado at Denver and former chief academic officer of the United Arab Emirates University.

The College traditionally announces several faculty awards and appointments at the Founders Day Convocation.

Dr. Mark A. Miller, chair of the faculty, presented the Edward G. Harness Outstanding Educator Awards to Timothy Catalano, associate professor of English. Established in 2007, the purpose of the award is to honor and reward Marietta College faculty for their high level of commitment to the education of students in and outside of the classroom. Faculty Council, through a process of peer nominations and review, make the selections.

Provost Rita Smith Kipp presented the Douglas Putnam Service Award to Paula Lewis, academic secretary, and Dr. David Jeffery, assistant professor of petroleum engineering and geology, and Dr. Dennis Kuhl, chair of physics. Established in 2001, the award recognizes members of the College Community who served the College in extraordinary ways. These are acts that go beyond the normal expectation of service to the department or campus and include volunteer actions where the individuals have taken on a task beyond the job expectations.

Dr. William Bauer, chair of Faculty Development Committee, presented the Innovative Teaching Awards to Dr. Janet Bland, assistant professor of English, Dr. Mark Sibicky, chair of psychology, and Dr. Dottie Erb, chair of education. Established in 2002, the award honors Marietta College faculty for excellence in teaching innovation.

Kipp also presented the Research Awards to Dr. Jacqueline DeLaat, professor of political science, and Prof. Grace Johnson, economics, management and accounting professor. Established in 2003, the award recognizes faculty members for significant contributions to their discipline, typically through a refereed publication or juried creative product.

Dr. Suzanne H. Walker, associate professor of communication, presented the Marietta College Advising Awards to Dr. Michael Tager (freshman), associate professor of political science, Dr. Mark Schaefer (major), assistant professor of political science, and Dr. William Bauer (graduate), associate professor of education. Established in 2004, the award is given to the faculty members who demonstrate quality advising in the areas of mentoring students in their transition to college, helping students with selection of courses, their major, career, and life planning.

Dr. Lon Vickers, vice president for Student Life, presented the Student Organization Service Award to Alpha Xi Delta. The award is given to student organizations that demonstrate the completion of service projects during the academic year.

Patricia A. Loreno Willis '70, chair of the Board of Trustees, presented the Marietta Community Leadership Award to Dr. Mark Sibicky. This award is given to a Marietta College employee who has made a significant contribution through volunteer service.