College inducts 11 students into new chemistry honorary

Male student standing in front of window while holding a chemistry beaker

During the spring semester, 11 students were inducted as founding members of Marietta College’s new chapter of the Gamma Sigma Epsilon — a chemistry honorary.

Inductees at Marietta College were chosen based on their academic performance in chemistry courses, overall academic performance at the college, and character.

The inductees are Megan Bache ’17 (Westland, Michigan), Adam Garlow ’17 (Vincent, Ohio), Teresa Kuhns ’17 (Quaker City, Ohio), Dallas Montag ’17 (Belmont, Ohio), Rachel Stahl ’17 (Oley, Pennsylvania), Nikki Young ’17 (Laurelville, Ohio), YuXi Zhou ’17 (Beijing, China), Daniel Carlsen ’18 (Vincent, Ohio), Casey Lassiter ’18 (Spencer, West Virginia), Jason Miller ’18 (Sardis, Ohio) and Bobby Thomas ’18 (Vincent, Ohio).

Dr. Kevin Pate, McCoy Professor of Chemistry, said the inductees are either headed to graduate school, medical school, veterinary school, dental school, physician assistant school — or likely will be headed to one of those places after graduation.

“We couldn't be prouder that these eleven students represent the beginnings of a new chapter of Gamma Sigma Epsilon on the Marietta College campus,” Pate said.

Gamma Sigma Epsilon is a national chemistry honor society founded in 1919 at Davidson College. The Society is governed by a National Executive Council of elected officers and meets in biennial conventions for the purpose of governance, fellowship, and scientific exchange. 

“GSE is an interesting honorary because they really push active membership. It’s not just something to add to a resume,” Pate said. “The 11 students being honored are outstanding students and outstanding people.”