Faculty honors presented during 177th Founders Day celebration

Marietta College’s faculty had their moment to shine Thursday, Feb. 16, during the 177th Founders Day convocation.

Marietta College President Dr. Jean A. Scott welcomed faculty, administration, trustees, emeriti faculty and honored guests who gathered to celebrate the College’s birthday in the Alma McDonough Auditorium. It was also Dr. Scott's final Founders Day as President of Marietta College. President-elect Dr. Joseph Bruno was also in attendance.

In total, 12 faculty/administrators were recognized with named professorships to excellence in their profession. There was also one student award presented.

The highest honor of the evening—the John G. and Jeanne McCoy Teaching Excellence Professorship—was presented to Dr. Beverly Hogue. Hogue becomes the 28th faculty member to earn the honor since its inception in 1994.

President Scott announced the following appointments:

Dr. Suzanne Walker, Associate Professor of Communication and Assistant Dean for First Year Experience and Advising, as The Hillyer Professorship in English Literature, Rhetoric, and Oratory.

Dr. Matt Young, McCoy Associate Professor of History, as The Andrew U. Thomas Professorship in History.

Dr. Connie Golden, Professor of Education, and Dr. Nicole Livengood, Assistant Professor of English, with the Edward G. Harness Outstanding Education Award.

Interim Provost Gama Perruci presented the Douglas Putnam Service Award to Dr. John Tynan, Associate Professor of Mathematics. Established in 2001, the award recognizes members of the College Community who served the College in extraordinary ways. These are acts that go beyond the normal expectation of service to the department or campus and include volunteer actions where the individuals have taken on a task beyond the job expectations.

Robert Van Camp, Associate Professor of Computer Science, presented the Innovative Teaching Award to Sara Alway-Rosenstock, Assistant Professor of Art and Graphic Design, and Dr. Cavendish McKay, Assistant Professor of Physics. Established in 2002, the award honors Marietta College faculty for excellence in teaching innovation.

Van Camp also presented Jolene Powell, McCoy Associate Professor of Art, with the Research Award. Established in 2003, the award recognizes a faculty member for significant scholarly contributions to their discipline, typically through a referred publication or juried creative project.

Dr. Mark Miller, Associate Provost for Academic Administration, presented the Marietta Advising Awards to Amanda Haney-Cech, Director of the Academic Resource Center, and Dr. Kevin Pate, McCoy Associate Professor of Chemistry. Established in 2007, the purpose of the award is to honor and reward Marietta College faculty for their high level of commitment to the education of students in and outside of the classroom. Faculty Council, through a process of peer nominations and review, make the selections.

David Travis, Director of Student Activities and Greek Life, presented the Student Organization Service Award to Circle K and Sigma Kappa sorority. The award is given to student organizations that demonstrate the completion of service projects during the academic year.

Barbara A. Perry Fitzgerald ’73, Chair of the Board of Trustees, presented the Outstanding Education Volunteer Award to MJ Ebenhack of AHEAD Energy. She also presented the Marietta Community Leadership Award to Dr. Gloria Stewart, Director of the Physician Assistant Program.

Paul Zecchi ’70 delivered the convocation address and was conferred a honorary degree in Doctor of Laws.