Faculty, students honored during annual Founders Day celebration

Customary during Marietta College’s annual Founders Day Convocation, faculty and students were recognized with special awards during the ceremony on Feb. 17 in the Alma McDonough Auditorium.

Marietta College President Jean A. Scott welcomed faculty, administration, trustees, emeriti faculty and honored guests who gathered to celebrate the College’s 176th birthday.

Dr. Marilyn Moon, a member of Marietta College’s Board of Trustees and Vice President and Director of the Health Program at the American Institutes for Research, delivered the keynote address.

The College traditionally announces several faculty awards and appointments at the Founders Day Convocation. The following were announced:

Edward G. Harness Outstanding Education Award: Dr. James T. Falter, Dr. John M. Grosel and Dr. Tanya M. Judd Pucella.

Innovative Teaching Award: Dr. Steven R. Spilatro and Dr. Brent T. Yorgason.

Research Award: Dr. James H. O’Donnell III.

Advising Award: Dr. Joseph M. Sullivan (freshman) and Dr. Richard K. Danford (major).

Student Organization Service Award: 1. Sigma Kappa; 2. Circle K International

Outstanding Education Volunteer Award: M. Jeanne Tasse.