Honors and Awards handed out at Founders Day

Dr. David Torbett shakes hands with President Ruud at Founders Day

During the 2017 Founders Day ceremony, Marietta College recognized faculty, staff and community members with a variety of honors and awards.

The following individuals were honored on February 16th:

  • Dr. Robert McManus, Associate Professor of Leadership Studies, and Dr. Alane Sanders, Associate Professor of Communication, were awarded the distinction of John G. and Jeanne McCoy Teaching Excellence Professorship. Established in 1993, the award is presented to a Marietta College instructor following an intensive scrutiny of the nominee’s teaching portfolio and classroom visitation by an external selection team drawn from private colleges across Ohio. 
  • Two professors were bestowed with distinctive Chair positions. Dr. Janie Rees-Miller, Professor of Modern Languages and Director of the English as a Second Language Program, was recognized as the William R. and Marie Adamson Flesher Chair of Humanities. Dr. Dave McShaffrey, Professor of Biology and Environmental Science, was named the Ebenezer Baldwin Andrews Chair of Natural Sciences.
  • The Edward G. Harness Outstanding Educator Award, the highest award voted on by Marietta College faculty, was presented to three professors — Dr. David Brown, Professor of Biology and Environmental Science, Andy Felt, Associate Professor of Theatre, and Julie Harding, Assistant Professor of Business and Economics.
  • The Israel Ward Andrews Professor of Religion distinction was awarded to David Torbett, Professor in the Departments of History and Philosophy and Religion.
  • Four professors were recognized for their excellence in advising students. Lori Smith, Instructor of Communication, and Dr. Mark Schaefer, Associate Professor of Political Science, were awarded the First-Year Student Advising Award. Holly Menzel, Instructor of Mathematics, and Dr. Suzanne Parsons, McCoy Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry, were presented with the Advising in the Major Award.

In addition to advising, some professors were recognized for their service that transcends the expectations of the position they hold at Marietta.

  • Marshall Kimball, Associate Professor of Music, and Dr. Dottie Erb, Professor of Education and Chair of the Education Department, were recipients of the Douglas Putnam Service Award. The award, established in 2001, recognizes individuals who have served the College in extraordinary ways. These are acts that go beyond the normal expectation of service to the department or campus and include volunteer actions where the faculty member has taken on a task beyond their job expectations.

Additional professors were awarded for their research efforts and innovation.

  • The Research Award was bestowed to Professor Grace Johnson, McCoy Professor of Accounting. Established in 2003, the award recognizes faculty members for significant contributions to their discipline, typically through a refereed publication or juried creative product.
  • Dr. Katy McDaniel, McCoy Professor of History, and Dr. Cathy Mowrer, McCoy Associate Professor of Education, were the recipients of the Innovative Teaching Award.

Staff members were also recognized for their commitment and devotion to assisting students and supporting the campus as a whole.

  • Jeanne Catalano, Library Service Associate, was presented with the Staff Award for Mentoring.
  • The Douglas Putnam Collaborative Staff Service Award was awarded to Jayson Douglas, Coordinator of Diversity & Inclusion.
  • Jena Blair, Administrative Coordinator of Athletic Training and Psychology, was also recognized at the ceremony. For her significant contributions through volunteer service, she was the recipient of the Marietta Community Leadership Award.

The keynote address was delivered by Dr. Robert Boswell ’73, Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement at the University of Colorado-Boulder, returned to Marietta for the first time since graduation.