Land & Energy Management program receives AAPL accreditation

land & energy management students celebrate

The American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL) has accredited the Land & Energy Management program at Marietta College’s Department of Business & Economics, making the program one of 12 nationally accredited land management programs in North America.

Marietta is the first liberal arts institution to receive the designation.

“AAPL accreditation signifies an important milestone for Marietta College’s Land & Energy Management program,” said Dr. Greg Delemeester, coordinator for the major. “It’s recognition that our students will be educated and held to high standards in the critical areas of business, law, science, communication and ethics. AAPL accreditation enables successful graduates to earn three ‘credit years’ toward the five-year work experience necessary to sit for the Registered Professional Landman certification exam. Furthermore, AAPL accreditation allows our students to be eligible for scholarships made available to accredited programs.”

The accreditation will take effect in the Fall of 2016, the same time the revised 2016-17 Land & Energy Management curriculum begins. Delemeester said the biggest change to the curriculum is the addition of a negotiations and ethics course that will be taught by instructor Tina Thomas.

“There was some give and take between us and the AAPL committee,” Delemeester said. “It took a lot of work. We had to educate them on how a liberal arts education works and we had to make some adjustments to make sure we were in line with their new standards.”

Created in 2014, the Land & Energy Management major’s curriculum builds on the strength of a rigorous business core, then includes disciplines such as geology, environmental science, communications and writing, and mathematics and computing to create a balanced program designed to meet the field’s diverse needs.

Other accredited universities include Texas Tech University, the University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City University, University of Texas, University of Wyoming, West Virginia University, Western State Colorado University, University of Tulsa, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Penn State University and University of Calgary in Canada.