Marietta claims 14 awards at OU tournament

forensics-OUMarietta College’s forensics team earned 14 awards and won the team sweepstakes at the annual Ohio University Forensics Tournament on Saturday (Jan. 26).

The Pioneers also won the Ohio Forensics Association Novice State Tournament in Athens by claiming seven awards.

At the Ohio University Tournament, Andrew Kasick ’13 (Marietta, Ohio) finished first in Open Impromptu Speaking and Open Extemporaneous Speaking to lead the Pioneers. Ben Reese ’13 (Marietta, Ohio) added a first-place in Open Persuasive Speaking, second place in Open Extemporaneous Speaking and fifth place in Open Impromptu Speaking.

CJ Maffris ’13 (Worcester, Mass.) also had first-place finishes in JV Impromptu Speaking and JV Program Oral Interpretation.

In the Open Dramatic Duo Interpretation, Maffris teamed with Chelsea Robinson ’15 (Sulphur, La.) to finish second. Robinson also finished in fourth with Cody Clemens ’13 (Malta, Ohio).

Christian Sanders ’14 (Willoughby, Ohio) also chipped in with two awards (third place in JV Impromptu Speaking and sixth place in Open Poetry).

Competing against Marietta was Butler University, Cedarville University, Heidelberg University, Ivy Tech Community College, Lafayette College, Malone University, Ohio University and University of Akron.

In the Novice State Tournament, Guershley Pierre ’15 (Lithopolis, Ohio) delivered a first-place finish in Dramatic Interpretation, while Aaron Dauterman ’16 (Canton, Ohio) finished second in Extemporaneous Speaking.

Andrew Looker ’16 (Canton, Ohio) and Ryan Childers ’16 (Vincent, Ohio) each added fourth-place finishes in Extemporaneous Speaking and Impromptu Speaking, respectively.

Zac Renkel ’16 (Streetsboro, Ohio) finished fifth in Impromptu Speaking and Clemens was third in Poetry Interpretation.

Dr. Tomeka Robinson, Director of Forensics, along with Dr. Jamie Moshin and Sabrina Wittekind ’12, graduate student, coaches Marietta.

Competing against Marietta in the novice tournament was Cedarville University, Heidelberg University, Malone University, Ohio University and University of Akron.

Marietta will host the Ohio Forensics Association Varsity State Championship for the first time on Feb. 15-16.