Marietta College's Petroleum Department hands out 23 scholarships

Twenty-three Marietta College students majoring in petroleum engineering were recently awarded academic scholarships ranging in value from $2,000 to $500 for a total of $20,895.

The Edwy R. Brown Department of Petroleum Engineering makes these awards in recognition of each student's strong academic effort in petroleum engineering as well as involvement in the Society of Petroleum Engineering and other activities.

Senior Matthew Peloquin of South Plainfield, N.J., was awarded the largest scholarship - a $2,000 Anadarko Petroleum Corporation Scholarship. Seniors Turner Reisberger of Shadyside, and Nicholas Tunnell of Parkersburg, W.Va., each received $1,500 Anadarko scholarships.

Seniors Kristen Drain of Point Pleasant, W.Va., and Andrew Fish of Eighty Four, Pa., each received $1,000 David A. Bartlett Memorial scholarships.

The following seven Marietta students were awarded $1,000 Doy C. Deem scholarships: senior Housseynou Sanghott of Marietta, juniors Shannon Glancy of Fleming, Abigail Higbie of Anchorage, Alaska, Matthew Rucker of Proctorville, and John Schilling of Lowell, and sophomores Matthew Hunnefeld of Plymouth, Mass., and Ashleigh Pottmeyer of Fleming.

Senior Bradley Maddox of Nitro, W.Va., received the lone $1,000 Robert M. Cunningham Scholarship, while senior Thomas Konsen of Brecksville, was award an $895 Robert Brace Memorial Scholarship.

Sophomore Carter Shaver of Waynesville received a $1,000 Harry H. Beren Scholarship, while eight others were awarded $500 Beren scholarships. Those awardees are seniors Jeremy Jones of Belpre, Chad Kavander of Lancaster, Zachary Lemon of Mineral Wells, W.Va., and Amie Weis of Burlington, Wis., juniors Mark Dean of Gnadenhutten and Jeconda Smith of Waterford, sophomore Charles Reynolds of Shaker Heights, and freshman Clinton Perkins of St. Marys, W.Va.