Rachel Ewing elected Student Body President for 2019-20

Rachel Ewing headshot

Marietta College’s 2019-20 Student Government Association leadership comes from three states, including a California native as student body President.

Marietta’s students elected Rachel Ewing ’20 (Stockton, California) to be the SGA President, and she will replace Emily Vigue ’19 (Lancaster, Ohio). Ewing said she is looking forward to serving as the 2019-20 SGA President.

“I am especially excited to increase the presence of SGA on campus and hopefully get more students involved,” she said. “For SGA, this will mean being more transparent with the student body, increasing engagement, and making sure to have student input on the decisions being made around campus. We have a great team this incoming year, both the executive board and representatives, and I am extremely excited to work with them and see what we can accomplish for the student body.”

The remainder of the SGA leadership team is Vice President Katie Kitchen ’21 (Marietta, Ohio), Treasurer Ashley Klopfenstein ’20 (Cicero, Indiana), Secretary Tyler Walker ’22 (Cambridge, Ohio), and Parliamentarian Anna-Claire Myers ’21 (Marietta, Ohio).

The SGA Class Representatives for 2019-20 are:

  • Seniors: Matthew Chih ’20 (Worthington, Ohio), Michael Doran ’20 (Granville, Ohio), Lauren Eakle ’20 (Whipple, Ohio), and Madeline Holbrook ’20 (Lancaster, Ohio).
  • Juniors: Brecklin Baker ’21 (Nashport, Ohio), Patrick Elliott ’21 (Marietta, Ohio), Kelsey Hall ’21 (Reno, Ohio), and Patrick Taylor ’21 (Columbus, Ohio).
  • Sophomores: Alexander Blackston ’22 (Lancaster, Ohio), Shea Goss ’22 (Lancaster, Ohio), Abbie Leslie ’22 (Lancaster, Ohio), and Taiylor Williamson ’22 (New Concord, Ohio).

SGA’s mission is to advocate for students and foster positive change on campus and be a liaison between students, faculty and the administration.