Core Values

  1. Liberal Arts Foundation
  2. In-Depth Programs of Study
  3. Global Perspective and Diversity
  4. World of Work
  5. Community
  6. Leadership
  7. Service

Learn More about our Core Values

Family Friendly Marietta

Learn about living in Marietta, Ohio, and the Mid-Ohio Valley.




Online Giving

Marietta College Faculty Development Committee

Faculty Development programs are designed to help strengthen faculty members' disciplinary ties by supporting projects in the "scholarship of discovery" (research) and the "scholarship of teaching" (ways to transmit knowledge and excite future scholars). The projects should benefit the faculty member and support the college's core values.

Awards are competitive and recommendations submitted to the Provost are based on proposals submitted to the Faculty Development Committee.

The Faculty Development Committee prefers to receive applications/proposals as electronic submissions.

Suggestions for electronic submission:

  1. Submitted materials should be in Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel or Adobe Acrobat (pdf) format. Submission in other file formats may delay or prevent consideration of the proposal. If possible, all materials for the submission should be included in a single file.
  2. A single copy of the electronic version of the proposal should be sent to the chair of the Faculty Development Committee, Dennis Kuhl, (  If the attached file can be opened, you will receive a return e-mail confirming the receipt of the proposal.
  3. The e-mail accompanying the attached file should clearly state what type of proposal is being submitted.

If you have any questions about the electronic submission procedure, please contact Dennis Kuhl by e-mail ( or by phone x4482.

Deadlines: 4 p.m. on the dates indicated

September 15, 2014: Load Reductions 1 [for Sp'15 or F'15] (electronic)
October 20, 2014: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 1 (electronic)
November 3, 2014: Sabbaticals (electronic)
January 26, 2015: Research Award
January 26, 2015: Load Reductions 2 [for AY 2015-2016] (electronic)
January 26, 2015: Innovative Teaching Award
February 2, 2015: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 2 (electronic)
February 16, 2015: Professional Improvement Grant (electronic)
March 30, 2015: Minigrants / Mentor Grants, Round 3 (electronic)

Committee Members

Dennis Kuhl, Chair
Ken Itzkowitz
Janie Rees-Miller
Ena Vulor
Brent Yorgason
Lynn Bostrom
Beth McNally, Academic Grants Office
Mark Miller, Academic Affairs Office