Marietta College celebrates its 185th birthday

Marietta College employees sitting at tables during Founders Day 2020

Marietta College’s faculty and staff spent the late afternoon on Thursday celebrating 185 years of impacting generations of students through education.

Founders Day — February 14, 1835 — is when Marietta officially received its charter from the state of Ohio to confer baccalaureate degrees. During Thursday's celebration, the College recognized a special group of Pioneers for their excellence and their service to Marietta.

Faculty Awards

The John G. and Jeanne B. McCoy Teaching Excellence Professorship was awarded to Dr. John Grosel, an Associate Professor in the Physician Assistant Program. The Edward G. Harness Outstanding Educator Award was given to Dr. Mary Barnas, Professor of Psychology, Dr. Tanya Judd Pucella, Associate Professor Education, and Dr. Michael Morgan, Assistant Professor of Political Science. Dr. Brandon Downing, Assistant Professor of History, received the Innovative Teaching Award. Dr. Robert McManus, Professor of Leadership Studies and Communication, and Dr. Alexandra Perry, Assistant Professor of Leadership Studies, received the Research Award. The Douglas Putnam Faculty Service Award was given to Dr. Roger Pitasky, Professor of Mathematics. Dr. John Fazio, Associate Professor of Management, received the Major Advising Award, and Dr. Michael Morgan received the First-Year Advising Award. Dr. Lynn Bostrom, Assistant Professor of Biology, and Dr. John Tynan, Professor of Mathematics, received the Marietta Community Leadership Award.

Staff Awards

The Dr. Jean A. Scott Staff Award for Distinction was awarded to Wendy Thieman, Athletics Operation Supervisor, and Gillian Keeley, Building Services Supervisor. Advancement’s Tara Meagle, Coordinator of Development Events, received the Douglas Putnam Collaborative Staff Service Award. Laurie McKain, Director of Auxiliary Services, and Linda Adelson, Mailroom Coordinator, received the Patriot Award. The Staff Award for Mentoring was given to Greg Myhr, Men’s Rowing head coach, and Linda Roesch, Instructional Technologist.

Community Awards

The Linsley Community Partner Award was given to Carl ’64 & Judy Heinrich ’66, Marietta Main Street, Perry and Associates CPAs, and Marian Clowes. The Outstanding Education Volunteer Award was given to Cheryl Arnold.