Education Department honors students with annual awards

Carter Lang headshot

Marietta College’s Education Department recently recognized 10 students with a variety of honors during their spring awards program.

Carter Lang ’19 (Lowell, Ohio) received the Michael J. Conte Educator as Leader Award. This award was established in 2005 by the Education Department and the McDonough Leadership Program to honor the memory of Michael Conte, an Early Childhood Education student and McDonough scholar. It is given to an outstanding member of the junior class who is pursuing the Leadership minor/certificate or the Teacher Leadership certificate and is majoring in Education.

The department also awarded the top students by class year. The following students received the Outstanding Education Student award:

  • First year: Marlo Taylor ’ 21 (Kimbolton, Ohio)
  • Second year: Amanda Augustyniak ’20 (Pickerington, Ohio) and Quinci Jones ’20 (New Concord, Ohio)
  • Third year: Amanda Chalfant ’19 (Marietta, Ohio), Corrie Burkhardt ’19 (Zanesville, Ohio) and Monica Curtis ’19 (New Matamoras, Ohio)
  • Intern: Justice Held ’18 (Pickerington, Ohio), Michael McCreary ’18 (Bucyrus, Ohio) and Jayshua Eckelberry ’18 (West Lafayette, Ohio).