Skip to main content
Dr. Kevin Pate helping students

Less than a week after bidding farewell to the Class of 2021, Marietta College will turn its attention to recognizing employees who have reached a milestone in service, as well as four individuals who are retiring.

President Bill Ruud is pleased to honor each employee who is being recognized for milestone years of service — starting at five years and continuing in five-year increments during the annual Employee Service Award and Retirement Recognition Ceremony at 11:00 a.m., Thursday, May 6th, in the Dyson Baudo Recreation Center.

Those being recognized for their service to the College have combined for 733 years. One employee, Dr. Greg Delemeester (Business & Economics) is celebrating 35 years of employment at Marietta, while three — Dottie Erb (Education), Vicki Ford (Human Resources) and Dan Jones (Information Technology) are celebrating 30 years.

Also, being honored on May 6th are:

25-year awards: Bob Billingsley (Physical Plant), Paula Lewis (President’s Office) and Jason Mader (Physical Plant).

20-year awards: Tim Catalano (English), Bev Hogue (English), Katy McDaniel (History), Paul Miller (Physical Plant), Kevin Pate (Chemistry), Joe Sullivan (English) and John Tynan (Mathematics).

15-year awards: Doug Anderson (Library), Dave Diehl (Physical Plant), Kris Ellis (Administration & Finance), John Grosel (Physician Assistant Program), Bill Grosklos (Physical Plant), Nancy Huffman (Administration & Finance), Tanya Judd Pucella (Education) and David Makuch (Theatre).

10-year awards: Mike Dailey (Campus Police), Andrea Euser (Health & Wellness), Bonnie Martinez (Chemistry), Cindy Nutter (Physical Plant), Jeff Schaly (Athletics) and Kim Settle (Campus Police).

5-year awards: Dwight Alsbach (Physical Plant), Mark Caldwell (Campus Police), Elliot Dodd (Student Life), Jay Dougherty (Music), Jane Eakle (Education), Amy Elliott (Nonprofits LEAD), Ben Federici (Athletics), Chyrsten Gessel (Athletic Training), Bob Heddleston (Campus Police), Sue Hiser (Petroleum Engineering), Scott Horner (Physical Plant), Nate Knobel (Communication and Brand Management), Tammy LaBarre (Physical Plant), Michele Marra (Administration & Finance), Bill Ruud (President’s Office), Rick Smith (Business & Economics), Heather Sowards (English), Angie Stevens (Academic Affairs), Akemi Sullivan (Physical Plant) and Steven Wilson (Information Technology). 

Also, being recognized are four retirees — Sam Crowther, Associate Professor of Athletic Training & Sports Medicine (1989-2021), Paul Miller, Associate Director of Physical Plant (2001-21), Roger Pitasky, Professor of Mathematics (1970-2020) and Penny Rose, Clinical Coordinator of Physician Assistant Studies (2000-21).