Skip to main content

Thanks to the generous donations of alumni and others, the Department of Chemistry is pleased to offer a number of scholarships and prizes to its deserving students. These scholarships and prizes, given on an annual basis, are listed below:

The Ellis L. and Jennie Mae Krause Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 1975 from gifts of former students, friends, and the family of Professor Ellis L. Krause, who taught chemistry at Marietta College from 1916 until his retirement in 1955. During most of that period, he was head of the Department of Chemistry. Income from the fund is used to assist worthy students majoring in the disciplines of chemistry, physics, or related sciences.

  • Ellis L. and Jennie Mae Krause Academic Enrichment Prize is awarded to a freshman who has demonstrated academic excellence in all coursework and is committed to medical or graduate school. The award, in the amount of $2000 annually, is renewable for the recipient's junior and senior year upon recommendation by the faculty, provided that the student maintains academic excellence and a commitment to graduate or medical school throughout his/her career. Recipients are encouraged to use the funds to enhance their academic experience and assist them with preparation for the Medical College Admissions Test (MCAT) or Graduate Records Examination (GRE). Suggested uses include but are not limited to purchasing relevant science textbooks, state-of-the-art computer hardware or science-related software, registering and paying tuition for the Kaplan Test Prep (or similar program) for the MCAT or GRE, application fees for graduate school and/or medical school, and travel expenses for interviews, or expenses for other academic initiatives (field trips, internships, etc.,) proposed by the Department of Chemistry for the student’s academic enhancement.
  • The Graduate Test Prep Award is awarded to a junior who has shown exceptional academic ability and promise and is committed to a career in chemistry or a related science, such as molecular biology, cell biology, or medicine and plans to attend medical or graduate school. This prize, in the amount of $1000, must be used for a graduate or medical school test course, such as those offered by Kaplan.


The Hans Gilde Scholarship Fund was established in 1992 by the former students of Dr. Hans Gilde, who taught organic chemistry at Marietta College from 1961 until his retirement in 1992. Income from this endowed fund is awarded as a partial tuition grant to the chemistry, biology, or petroleum engineering major who is the most deserving organic chemistry student and who has demonstrated leadership. The value of the scholarship is approximately $2000.

The Hohman Scholarship Fund was established in 2001 by former students of Professor William H. Hohman. Initiated by Dr. David G. Stockwell, Class of 1969, the purpose of this fund is to provide an academic scholarship for a second or third-year chemistry or biochemistry major based on his/her performance in the introductory chemistry courses. Dr. Hohman taught chemistry at Marietta College from 1965 to his retirement in 2001. The value of the scholarship is approximately $1000.

The Dyer Chemistry Scholarship Fund was established in 1982 by M. Dean Dyer, Class of 1934, to honor the memory of Professors E. L. Krause and E. B. Krause and the tradition of excellence in teaching in the Department of Chemistry of the College. Recipients must have completed their junior year and be chemistry majors. Annual income from this endowed fund is awarded as a partial tuition grant for the recipient's senior year at Marietta.

The Samuel R. Ruby Scholarship Fund was established by his parents, Victor M. Ruby, M.D., Class of 1942, and Sonia Bender Ruby of Atlantic City, N.J. The award is given to a deserving student in chemistry/physics who has completed a full year at the college.

The E.B. Krause Chemistry Achievement Award memorializes Elwyn Busian Krause, who taught chemistry at Marietta from 1927 to 1960. The award goes to a student who has shown outstanding achievement in a first-year chemistry course. The award consists of $100 to purchase textbooks, a copy of The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, and placement of the recipient's name on a plaque in the Department of Chemistry.

The Hobba Chemistry Prize is given to a senior or junior majoring in chemistry with high academic achievement. The prize, memorializing Ellis Llewellyn Krause (Sc. D. 1955 and Emeritus Erwin Professor of Chemistry at Marietta College) is in the name of Virginia Hobba Elliott and Irvin Ellis Hobba, his grandchildren.

The LaVallee Award in Chemistry is given to a graduating senior chemistry major by the Upper Ohio Valley Section of the American Chemical Society. Selection is by the faculty of the Department of Chemistry. The award, a year's membership in the American Chemical Society and $100, memorializes George A. LaVallee of Marietta, a founder of the local section of ACS.

The American Chemical Society Sophomore Award is given to a sophomore student who shows exceptional performance in sophomore chemistry courses and who has the potential of becoming a chemistry major. The prize consists of $50 and a one-year subscription to The Journal of Chemical Education.