Emily Vigue ’19 elected student body president for 2018-19

Emily Vigue headshot

Marietta College’s student body recently elected four students from Ohio and one from California into leadership roles on the 2018-19 Student Government Association.

Emily Vigue ’19 (Lancaster, Ohio) was elected student body president and will replace Paige Berschet ’18 (London, Ohio). Marietta’s SGA president has been an Ohio resident 10 out of the last 11 elections.

“I am very excited to serve as SGA president for the 2018-19 academic year, and I am especially excited to start working on different projects and initiatives that will support and encourage our growing enrollment,” Vigue said. “For SGA, this will mean focusing on supporting our student organizations and working toward a positive campus culture for all Marietta students.” 

The rest of the SGA leadership team is Vice President Bri Dietry ’19 (Doylestown, Ohio), Treasurer Katie Kitchen ’21 (Marietta, Ohio), Secretary Kelsey Hall ’21 (Reno, Ohio) and Parliamentarian Rachel Ewing ’20 (Stockton, California).

The  SGA Class Representatives for the 2018-19 are:

  • Seniors: Tristan Bailey ’19 (Wilmot, Ohio), Emily Brown ’19 (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Tara Moore ’19 (Oberlin, Ohio). A fourth representative will be determined through a runoff election.
  • Juniors: Katie Detsch ’20 (Kane, Pennsylvania), David Erzen ’19 (Bethel Park, Pennsylvania), Maddie Holbrook ’20 (Lancaster, Ohio) and Hannah Posson ’20 (Alexandria, Virginia).
  • Sophomores: Breck Baker ’21 (Nashport, Ohio), Eric Kemp ’21 (Woodsfield, Ohio), Lexi Moore ’21 (Parkersburg, West Virginia) and Graham Nesselrode ’21 (Vienna, West Virginia).

SGA’s mission is to advocate for students and foster positive change on campus and be a liaison between students, faculty and administration.