Rewards for Writers

The English Department invites all students to enter these contests:


Open to juniors and first-semester seniors • Applicants submit a portfolio of writing samples

Established in 1985 by family and friends of Mr. Howard, Class of 1941, whose lifelong writing and journalistic career spanned 44 years. Mr. Howard began his writing career in 1941 as a reporter for a Vermont newspaper, later working three years for a U.S. Army newspaper during World War II, and following the war, returning to Vermont where he held reporting and editing positions at two newspapers. In 1954 he joined the Providence (R.I.) Journal Bulletin as a reporter, and in 1966 became state news editor, advancing in 1971 to associate managing editor, the position he held at the time of his death. He was an officer and member of the board of directors of the New England Society of Newspaper Editors (NESNE), and since 1982 was actively involved in NESNE Soviet Union journalist exchange conferences to promote better understanding between the United States and the Soviet Union. The scholarship recognizes Mr. Howard’s lifelong commitment to the liberal arts and to excellence in creative and journalistic writing. The scholarship is open to juniors and seniors majoring in any subject who must apply by submitting a portfolio of writing samples to a committee composed of faculty from the English Department and at least two outside professional writers, one being an established creative writer and the other a seasoned journalist. The scholarship will be awarded entirely on writing merit without regard to financial need. Donors would appreciate recipients of the grant making contributions to this fund principal when possible so that the amount will grow and serve more students in future years.

Submission Guidelines


  1. l.    Eligibility
    1. A Howard Prize candidate must be a full-time junior or first-semester senior at Marietta College.
    2. The student can be a major in any academic field.
  2. 2.    The Portfolio
    1. The candidate should submit a portfolio of writing to the Amy Williams ( by 4 p.m. Friday, February, 18, 2022.
    2. The portfolio should include 4 to 6 examples of a nominee's best writing.
    3. The portfolio must contain at least one substantial piece of analytical expository writing but may include several other types of writing--scripts, fiction, drama, poetry, informal essays, journalistic articles, etc. 
    4. The material in the portfolio must have been written during the nominee's years at Marietta College.
    5. Papers that have been evaluated by professors may be revised and, whether revised or not, must be reprinted.  All manuscripts must be printed (not hand-written).
    6. The writer’s name should appear only on a cover sheet, not on the separate entries.
    7. The portfolio becomes the property of the Department of English and Modern Languages.
  3. 3.    The Prizes
    1. The Howard Prize is a credit applied to the student's tuition for the semester following the award.
  4. 4.    The Reading Committee
    1. The reading committee is composed of four faculty members:  one from the English and Modern Languages Department, one from the Mass Media Department, one from a department in the social sciences, and one from a department in the natural sciences/mathematics.

All portfolio submissions and questions regarding the Howard Writing Prize should be addressed to Amy Williams, Department of English and Modern Languages (

PDF Version



For the best poem submitted by a student

sponsored by the Academy of American Poets’ university and college poetry prize program, is awarded annually to the student whose poem is judged the best of those submitted for the local campus contest. Endowed by Laura Baudo, the prize is named in honor of Stephen W. Schwartz, emeritus professor of English.


For the best poem or group of poems by a student, representing a substantial creative effort

may be awarded annually for the best original poem or group of poems by a student or graduate of the College. The poem or group of poems must be approximately 100 lines in length and submitted to the Department of English faculty no later than April 15. A permanent fund for the prize was established by the will of the late William D. Emerson.


For the junior or senior submitting the best origional piece of creative writing

may be awarded annually to the junior or senior submitting the best original piece of creative writing. Manuscripts must be submitted to the Department of English faculty not later than April 15. No person having once received the prize shall be eligible for it again. Her family, Mrs. Eleanor Ward Lemon, Class of 1930; the late Mrs. Mary Ward Gleysteen, Class of 1932; and the late Mrs. Asa E. Ward, Class of 1902, give it in memory of Margaret Ward Martin, Class of 1934.


For the best essay devoted to American Literature

may be awarded annually for essays devoted to some phase of American literature. Topics should be assigned by the instructor in American literature or the head of the Department of English. Manuscripts must be submitted to the Department of English faculty not later than April 15 of the current year. Recipients of prizes are not eligible to compete again. The prizes were established by the late Burton E. Stevenson, Lit. D., –1955


Applicants will annually submit a portfolio demonstrating their writing skills. Portfolios will be read and evaluated by a Writing Review Committee, which will make recommendations for awards.

Former Board of Trustee member Charlene C. Samples, Class of 1977, established the Charlene Samples Creative Writing Scholarship. Ms. Samples established this award to foster and reward creative writing, and to recognize the value of writing in the pursuit of any successful career.

This scholarship is open to incoming freshmen and upper-class students, and is renewable for four years. Applicants will, annually, submit a portfolio demonstrating their writing skills. Portfolios will be read and evaluated by a Writing Review Committee, which will make recommendations for awards.

Deadline for all awards is 4:00 p.m., Friday, February 18.

Email submissions to Amy Williams (

Further information and printed guidelines are available in the English Department (Thomas 216).