Scholarships and Grants

The Carl L. Broughton Leadership Scholarship

These scholarships were established by a $500,000 donation to the College by the Bernard P. McDonough Foundation. Intended as a memorial to Carl L. Broughton, a trustee of Marietta College, who died in May, 1996, the scholarships are awarded annually to two rising sophomores who meet the following criteria: membership in the McDonough Leadership Program with a minor in Leadership Studies or a major in International Leadership Studies, solid grade point average, and evident service to the campus and community. Each scholarship is worth $5,000, and renewable up to two more years, for a total $15,000 award, provided you continue to meet the three criteria for the award.

Selection Process:

Rising sophomores are invited to submit an application in the spring semester. Recipients are selected by the McDonough Awards Committee.

2015-2016 Recipients:

McKenzie Fleeman(Cohort 29)
Rylie Wahl (Cohort 29)

Download Application Form Here


The Sherrill and Diana Drake Cleland Leadership Award

This Scholarship was funded in 2000 by the fourteenth president of Marietta College, Dr. Sherrill Cleland. The award (a minimum of $250 per recipient) is to be used by McDonough Scholars pursuing the minor or major to defray expenses incurred to attend a relevant leadership conference, an approved internship, or a study-abroad experience focusing on leadership.

Selection Process:

The recipient is selected by the McDonough Awards Committee in the spring semester.

2015-2016 Recipients:

Maria Stickrath  (Cohort 27)
Samantha Welch (Cohort 28)


The Robert and Sally S. Evans Civic Engagement Internship Award

This award was created by Sally S. Evans in order to support the local nonprofit community. The award provides $4,000 for a student to complete a summer internship at a nonprofit organization in Marietta. The internship has to involve activities that directly benefit children in the area. The award is provided in two installments -- $2,000 for living expenses and $2,000 stipend (upon completion of a report).

Selection Process:

The Office of Civic Engagement manages the selection process. For more information, please email OCE ( or drop by the OCE Office (McDonough 204).

Summer 2016 Recipient:

Allison Watkins (Cohort 28)


Student Awards and Prizes

The Michael J. Conte Educator as Leader Award

This was established in 2005 by the Education Department and the McDonough Leadership Program to honor the memory of Michael Conte, an early childhood education major and McDonough Scholar. This award is given to an outstanding member of the junior class who is pursuing the leadership minor/certificate or the teacher leadership certificate and is majoring in Education.

Selection Process:

The Education Department and McDonough Leadership Program meet once a year and decide on the award recipient.

2015-2016 Recipient:

Michael Reese (Cohort 27)


The Sherrill Cleland Prize in Leadership

This scholarship was established by the Board of Trustees upon President Sherrill Cleland's retirement in 1989 to recognize Dr. Cleland's efforts to instill qualities and skills of leadership as a major component of Marietta College's educational program during his 16 years of personal leadership. It is given annually to the most outstanding of the graduating McDonough Scholars.

Selection Process:

The McDonough Awards Committee chooses the recipient from senior McDonough Scholars nominated by their peers.

2015-2016 Recipients

Austin Burns (Cohort 26)
Taylor Hanigosky (Cohort 26)
Gene Neill (Cohort 26)
Caitlyn Yeager (Posthumously)


The Outstanding First-Year McDonough Scholar

This scholarship is awarded annually to recognize first-year students in the McDonough Leadership Program who have demonstrated academic excellence and commitment to the values of the McDonough Leadership Program.

Selection Process:

The recipients are selected by the McDonough Awards Committee from McDonough Scholars who are enrolled in LEAD 103 with a GPA of 3.8 or above.

2015-2016 Recipients:

Matthew Johson (Cohort 29)
Derek Krieg (Cohort 29)
Rylie Wahl (Cohort 29)


Ohio Campus Compact Charles J. Ping Student Community Service Award:

This award was designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community. This award can be granted annually to one undergraduate per Ohio Campus Compact member institution. Those nominated to be a Ping award winner for their campus will compete with other Ping nominees from across the state for a $500 mini-grant, to be given to the community partner of the Ping nominee. These four (4) grants are generously provided by Fifth Third Bank. Candidates should show evidence of exemplary community service during their time on campus or show evidence of exemplary service-learning during their time on campus.

Selection Process:

The application form must be accompanied by the requested student essay and letter of nomination from the president of their college or university. The McDonough Center’s Director of Civic Engagement coordinates the selection process.

2014-2015 Recipient:

Danielle Chirdon (Cohort 25)